Skip to content

Some Thoughts On ‘Titanic 3D’

April 6, 2012

You call that 3D? Why can’t we just have a normal, 35mm or 2D remastered IMAX screening of a bloody fantastic film? I’m a huge fan of Titanic – it is definitely one of my personal favorites, but this 3D was just embarrassing. The conversion supposedly took 60 weeks to complete whereas the technicians went frame-by-frame attempting to give the audiences a superb conversion – though it is clear that it’ll never happen due to the time the film was originally released. The 3D glasses took away about 25% of brightness off the screen, resulting in a less enjoyable experience for audiences who know the film well. The only 3D scenes that are moderately noticeable are during the tightly shot scenes with Rose walking through the flooding corridor. Was it worth seeing on the big screen? Yes. Is it worth paying more to watch in 3D? Absolutely not. One would think that James Cameron fulfilled audiences enough… 

Before I start to discuss, let me share a few key points producer Jon Landau had on the 3D conversion. The original interview was at Box Office.

This process, we’ve taken 60 weeks to convert the movie to 3D. We’ve done it on a frame-by-frame basis—Jim has been very involved in the process—and we believe that what we’re going to present isn’t a re-release but a new movie, and that people will see it as such when they go to the movies.

Here’s another excerpt where Landau discusses 3D skills:

It’s a learning process. I think we learned on Avatar that in a fast-cutting sequence, you go with less 3D and not more 3D because you don’t have time to take in the 3D. We learned how to focus and hone in on where people are looking and make that the comfortable viewing so that there’s no eye strain when you’re watching the movie. It’s an accumulation of things.

If you’ve been following my reviews from the start – then you’re well aware that I’m totally against 3D technology. I find the whole gimmick to be cheap, dumb, and doesn’t even properly function 75% of the time (see: Green Lantern, John Carter, Thor (I can go on forever)). The only 3D film I remotely found technically proficient was Avatar. This brings me to Wednesday – I had high hopes for the 3D in this film solely because Cameron’s past work with this technology has been superb. It is pretty much a well-known fact that a film from ’97 wouldn’t have a top-notch technology, yet I didn’t expect to find all of these errors (mentioned in paragraph one).  Even with my continuous insulting to the 3D technology – I feel like a hypocrite because I’ve already seen the film twice in 3D. Enough with my ranting – let me share some thoughts on the masterpiece that is Titanic

Titanic: 5 out of 5

For 12 years straight, James Cameron’s Titanic was the highest grossing film of all-time (until it was knocked down to number two by Cameron’s next film, Avatar). Titanic changed movies forever. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever met a person who hasn’t seen Titanic. Worldwide, the film is equally well-renowned. While I can’t deny that the film does have some haters (I don’t blame ’em, it’s a long time to sit through a whole film for an impatient one), almost anybody can agree that the last hour is breathtaking and flawless. I don’t think I can say anything that hasn’t been said. Titanic is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece that will forever be known as the hit that never sinks. If you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend that you sea it immediately!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lina Julian permalink
    April 29, 2012 12:31 pm

    I wanted to see this movie so badly bc I am a fan of Titanic!! But after reading the reviews of the 3D effects made me glad that I didn’t waste my $$. I’ll just watch it in 2D like a normal person would. =D

Trackbacks

  1. Glittering Hokum – TV, Film And Video Game Reviews | Titanic 3D – Review

Leave a Reply to this Post

