Skip to content

Matt’s Most Anticipated Films for 2012

December 27, 2011

Well, it seems it is that time of the year again. It’s time to wrap up what was a fantastic year of film (check out my top ten of 2011 HERE at Why So Blu?), and prepare for the next year of film. While 2011 was not a huge year for anticipation, there were a whole lot of pleasant surprises. Next year will be the motherload. We finally will get to see how Christopher Nolan ends his successful Batman franchise, or how Joss Whedon handles The Avengers. Also, who isn’t totally pumped for Alien 5, I mean Prometheus. While all of those films have been getting publicity wide, audiences do not know squat about Quentin Tarantino’s next film Django Unchained which will most likely be the wild card next year. Do these films make it in my list? Read on to find out…


20. Haywire –
As a big fan of director Steven Soderbergh, there was no doubt in my mind an assassin film by him would make my list. After seeing some footage at Comic-Con, I was sold. Oh yeah, it has Michael Fassbender too.

 

19. The Expendables 2 – I didn’t really dig the first Expendables. For a movie that is meant to contain a high amount of action, it had some pretty dull moments. However, after viewing the trailer for The Expendables 2, I thought I would give it another shot. Bring it on!

 

 


18. The Bourne Legacy –
Not until I viewed Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol was I so confident that Jeremy Renner would be able to take on the ultimate action character: Jason Bourne. However, he has proved to be a good action star, and I would love to see Edward Norton in another antagonist role.

 


17. This Is Forty –
Playing as an official spinoff from the married couple of Debbie (Leslie Mann) and Pete (Paul Rudd), This Is Forty is comedic director Judd Apatow’s latest film. Though he has made a name for producing some great hits (Bridesmaids), his directorial films are always classic.

 


16. Dog Fight –
A movie where Zach Galifianakis and Will Ferrell compete for the 2012 presidential election. From Jay Roach, the director of all three Austin Powers films, comes his next [hit?] film that will hopefully be his apology for last years Dinner for Schmucks.

 


15. Scary Movie 5 –
I know what you’re thinking, how could I put this on my list? Well, these are all guilty pleasures of mine. They aren’t a cinematic tour de force or a spectacle of awesomeness, but it is a funny franchise. Personally, I cannot wait to see Leslie Nielson’s last time on the big screen.

 

 

14. The Five-Year Engagement – Jason Segel, Emily Blunt, and Community‘s Alison Brie together in a comedy? Count me in! As a huge fan of Segel (The Muppets was muppetational and How I Met Your Mother is one of the smartest shows on television), I am ecstatic about this film.

 

13. Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance – The first Ghost Rider film was not meant with lukewarm reviews or audience reactions. I found it simply average, but was only worth 1-2 viewings. I’m not a fan of Nicolas Cage, or Ghost Rider; however, I am a die-hard fan of directors Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor, who brought us the cult classic Crank Bring on the mayhem!

 

12. This Means War – It’s Bane versus Kirk. All to win Reese Witherspoon? Fine with us! Based on the explosive trailer, this looks like a fun time, nothing more. It won’t win any awards, nor does it have anything strikingly new, but This Means War looks like standard hollywood entertainment that I always enjoy. The title is terrible, though.

 

 

11. Chronicle – Ever since the first theatrical trailer, I have been aching for new information on this film. From the looks of it, it will play out as a Cloverfield meets [the last 30 minutes of] Megamind. This may be the dawn of a new style of found-footage films.

 

10. Wanderlust – From the director of Role Models. Role Models. Role Models! Okay, I had to type that a few times to express my underlying excitement for Wanderlust, and it’s from the director of Role Models! David Wain always gives us the most atrocious trailers, but when his films arrive, they never seize to amaze.

 

9. Jeff, Who Lives at Home – The Duplass brothers have crafted a cast that was made for me. Though I do not know much about this, a film with Jason Segel and Ed Helms can’t disappoint.

 

 

8. Movie 43 – I have been waiting for this to get a release date forever. Guest directors Elizabeth Banks, Steven Brill, Steve Carr, James Duffy,Griffin Dunne, Peter Farrelly, James Gunn, Bob Odenkirk, and Brett Ratner deliver short films in what is going to turn into a cult classic.

 

 

7. Untitled Kathryn Bigelow Osama bin Laden Film – Kathryn Bigelow has pretty much made a name for herself as the most realistic director in Hollywood. After she shocked audiences with Best Picture winner The Hurt Locker, she signs up to make a flick about the death of satan, I mean Osama.

 

 

6. The Amazing Spider-Man – Despite my love for Sam Raimi’s take on the Spider-Man series, I could not be more pumped for The Amazing Spider-Man. Though I would have loved to see Tobey Maguire in The Avengers, Andrew Garfield was perfect in The Social Network, so I haven’t lost faith!

 

5. Premium Rush – When the trailer for Premium Rush premiered, I was stunned. Not only am I an avid bicyclist, but I am an avid fan of Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s work. The plot, as quiet as it may seem, is the classic chase synopsis. I have nothing else to say, the film looks great.

 

4. The Avengers – In 2008, Nick Fury approached Tony Stark. Later that year, he approached Bruce Banner. In 2011, he found two more candidates, Thor and Steve Rogers. We have waited for years for this film. If you thought these films were good, imagine them all combined! The Avengers will be epic.

 

 

3. Prometheus – When news came around that Ridley Scott’s next film Prometheus would be a prequel to Alien, Ridley Scott was quick to retort, stating that “this is not an Alien prequel”. What are you smoking, man? You watch that trailer and tell me it is not an Alien prequel. Anyways, this film looks magnificent. Yay, more Fassbender!

 

2. Django Unchained – Quentin Tarantino changed movies… forever. When Reservoir Dogs arrived, it was quiet, and did not have a very big following. It was up until the release of Pulp Fiction that Tarantino became a well-renowed director. Not only that, but he’s the best director ever. Period. I know literally nothing about this film (which is good when going into a Tarantino film!) and I cannot wait for its release.

 

1. The Dark Knight Rises – No explanation required.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2011 1:30 pm

    A FANTASTIC list! Man! some of these I haven’t been following and now must keep an eye on them! thanks!

    Glad to see someone else on the “excitement wagon” for The Amazing Spiderman!

  2. Tazio Galardi permalink
    February 18, 2012 6:35 pm

    Great movie list! Totally agreed with The Dark Knight Rises being #1 followed by Quentin Tarantinos and Promethus. So pumped

Trackbacks

  1. Films to Look Forward to in 2012 « movie nerd confessions

Leave a Reply to this Post

