Skip to content

Tucker & Dale vs. Evil

September 3, 2011

Tucker: There we were minding our own business, just doing chores around the house, when kids started killing themselves all over my property.

I guess the perfect way to start this off is saying that I had no intention of seeing Tucker & Dale vs Evil prior to yesterday. So I went on Zune, and saw it was extremely cheap, so I said “why not” and went ahead. Even though I had no prior interest in this, I found myself enjoying it for the most part throughout. The laughs are far from scarce and it’s really fun seeing Tyler Labine and Alan Tudyk get into their misunderstood, crazy, and frequently bloody situations together. However, the younger aged cast doesn’t bode well performance-wise, unless I somehow missed the intentional bad acting. I did in fact enjoy this and found it somewhat similar to Shaun of the Dead in terms of the substantial use of gruesome humor. So I really enjoyed this for the most part, and found it to be well-directed, and well acted by the two leads, as well as a surprising twist, making this an unexpected fun time.
 

Alan Tudyk and Tyler Labine star as Tucker and Dale, two best friends who travel to vacation in their vacation house in the woods. They are mistaken for murderers by a group of snotty, preppy, and frequently mentioned “college kids”. When one of them falls unconscious in the river, Dale and Tucker rescue her and take care of her in her their vacation house. Obviously, the kids escalate the situation and believe the girl is being tortured, so they devise a plan to rescue her. None of the plans work, as they all end up in somebody dying, unintentionally, and suicidally. After that it’s up to two hillbillies to convince everyone otherwise, which may not bid well for the kids.

Given a unique premise, I thought it was executed very well which is why there are so many aspects that make this a pretty impressive film. The plot alone does not sound all-to-terrific at first, but it’s definitely the comedy aspect that makes it funnier than it should be. This is mostly due to the top-notch script by Eli Craig, who was also the director. I really enjoyed Craig’s style of directing, as I found it to be unique and a bit different then some other films. Even though the film isn’t completely finished, and the pre-releases don’t have CGI included [yet], it’s still a pretty quality film.

Tyler Labine and Alan Tudyk are definitely the films most redeeming factor. Having been a fan of Tudyk from his work in Dodgeball and Death at a Funeral, it was sort of a no brainer that I would enjoy him in this. Labine is more of a newcomer to the film business, but is the films funniest and most lovable character. Watching these two go back in forth with their insane arguments and completely random dialogue that somehow work and are very funny. 

There is a good amount of blood, gore, humor to the table. There is also a scene with the score from The Dark Knight in the background and a two-faced guy in that scene, which I loved. I found the characters relatable (which doesn’t happen much in films these days) and the two leads are just lovable and make the audience care about them. Now that does not go the same for the college kids, for they are snotty, spoiled, and pretty stupid throughout, but their [supposedly] over-the-top performances are mildly entertaining to watch throughout, and who can resist a film with such a great title?

Tucker & Dale vs. Evil = 4 out of 5

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 8:15 am

    I guess you’ll want to place a twitter icon to your website. Just bookmarked this blog, although I must do it manually. Simply my 2 cents.

    My blog:
    rachat de credits rachatdecredit.net

  2. September 6, 2011 8:25 am

    Thanks!

  3. September 27, 2014 1:33 am

    I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or
    blog posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled
    upon this web site. Reading this info So i am happy
    to express that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny
    feeling I found out just what I needed. I most for sure will make sure to don?t
    put out of your mind this web site and provides it a look
    on a continuing basis.

  4. October 4, 2014 8:31 pm

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your blog on my
    iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great site!

Leave a Reply to this Post

