Skip to content

The Hangover Part II

May 27, 2011

Alan: What is this a P.F. Changs?

Before I get into great detail about this movie, I would like to point out that it’s not a cinematic masterpiece, or a special effects extravaganza, The Hangover Part II is just a tremendously hilarious sequel, which in my opinion is the perfect summer movie that I think many audiences will enjoy. I can admit that many aspects of this movie are repeated from the first one, but this time they are presented much darker, meaner, and raunchier (especially the pictures at the end… they are freaking insane). It surprises me that critics are hating on this movie so much, it seems to me that they just don’t know how to laugh! The Hangover Part II is a hilarious film and a great sequel that is highly rewatchable (even without Mel Gibson). 

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t think that Todd Philips would be able to make another story. I guess I though that these characters wouldn’t be stupid enough to get themselves into another insane situation like this again. In other words, I didn’t think that The Hangover Part II was ever going to happen. Aside from that, I was glad to see Stu, Phil and Alan in another adventure, and of course Mr. Chow!

I can’t help but mention how much I loved Ken Jeong (Community) reprising his role as crimelord Mr. Chow. Chow is hilarious and brings a lot of wit to this movie with his memorable one liners and his mysteriously messed up personality. On a completely different note, I can’t help but mention how much I love Jeong on NBC’s Community. He is a great actor and if you watch the behind the scenes, you can tell that he takes acting very seriously and professionally while still having a good time on set. Personally, I am pretty glad that they brought him back again because how can you have a hangover without a Chow?

The tone of this film is much darker than the previous one. Vegas is fun and a great party place, Bangkok is a wild and dangerous place full of silent monks and people with guns and (again) Mr. Chow (I’m probably mentioning Chow a little much). The darkness and raunchiness of this film honestly makes this much more enjoyable from my point of view. 

I know I’m going on and on about how good this movie is but I hate to admit it but I only have one complaint; what happened to Stu and the stripper? At the end of the first film Stu clearly says that he will call her… so why’s up with this Lauren girl? I’d at least want a little prologue or explanation to what happened in between these movies and I’ve talked to people about this so I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. This is completely unrelated but I thought it was seriously hilarious that Zach Galifinakis banned his parents from seeing this movie. Considering what Alan does in the middle of the film it doesn’t surprise me but it was interesting seeing that on the news. Overall, The Hangover Part II is a great sequel that I highly recommend.

Stu: You’re the bearded devil!

One Comment leave one →
  1. simon permalink
    May 31, 2011 8:56 pm

    i agree what happend to stu and the stripper!!!!!!!!!!

    i was really disapointed when they didnt include her even as you said do an explanation to what happens to them maybe in an upcoming hangover 3?

    who no’s but on the whole it was a good movie and chow was hilarious :L

Leave a Reply to this Post

