Skip to content

The Hangover

May 26, 2011

Officer Franklin: Come over here handsome. [Alan walks over] Not you fat jesus.

I absolutely loved this movie. It’s hilarious and features plenty of raunchiness that additionally contains countless memorable quotes. Aside from being brilliantly written by writer/director Todd Philips (Old School), this film features great performances from it’s three leads (Zach Galifianakis, Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms) and has great cameos (Ken Jeong, Mike Tyson). 

After a bachelor party goes tremendously wrong, three groomsmen wake up the next morning, devoid of the groom. They panic because they didn’t remember what happened the past night and we have Stu without a tooth, Phil with a hospital wristband, and Alan staying completely calm and collected throughout. Now they just need to search all of Las Vegas to find the groom and get him back to L.A. in time to walk down the aisle. 

The talented Todd Phillips, who made classics such as Old School and Road Trip, directed this movie. He’s basically a mastermind of a director. I loved Philips directing approach to The Hangover, and eventually I found myself quoting the film nearly every day of my life. The acting is great and hilarious. The stars are so talented. The movie stars Bradley Cooper (Wedding Crashers, Yes Man), Ed Helms (The Office), Zach Galifianakis (Bored to Death), Heather Graham (Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me), and Justin Bartha (National Treasure 1, 2). 

This (nearly 300 million at the box office which became the highest grossing comedy of all time) smash comedy hit is for everyone. It’s funny, and full of one-liners. This is a movie to see countless times without getting bored. I’d also like to add how much I loved Ken Jeong as Mr. Chow (which I continued to express in my review for Part II). Again, Jeong’s portrayal of a chinese criminal is pure brilliance and produces great laughs. By now I am reasonably sure everyone has seen it but I’ll still say it: I highly recommend this comedic masterpiece.

Black Doug: C’mon man, I’ll be your Doug.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply to this Post

