Skip to content

No Strings Attached

May 15, 2011

Adam: You can’t fight me, you’re miniature.

You know, there’s a lot of things to say about No Strings Attached, it’s funny, charming and witty. While all of that is true, I truly believe that No Strings Attached could have been a lot better, especially considering that it boasts a cast with Oscar/Golden Globe winner Natalie Portman (Black Swan, Thor) and the dimwitted but hilarious Ashton Kutcher (That ’70’s Show, Valentines Day). Despite that, it’s not that terrible, but definitely predictable and did not exceed my expectations.

Occasionally in the 15 years since summer camp, Adam and Emma cross paths. When Adam finds out that his ex-girlfriend is living and with his dad, he drinks, and calls every girl in contact list, and eventually ends up passed out naked in her (Emma’s) living room. After this, Emma and Adam begin a ‘friends with benefits’ type deal and begin sleeping together frequently. Here’s the catch: the first person to develop feelings for the other person loses the ‘game.’


I’d like to state that No Strings Attached isn’t your typical sex comedy, and it isn’t, but it is filled with one too many romance cliches, which gets repetitive over the course of the film. Another thing is that a few of the scenes drag on and seem to be extended only to make the film longer. Now before I get to the good stuff, there is just one more flaw I would like to point out, which is a lot of Emma’s dialogue. Her character seems as if she doesn’t know what she is ever doing and complains about basically everything. Now, on to the good stuff…


No Strings Attached is an extremely charming, witty, and funny film by Ivan Reitman, who has executively produced a few of my favorite films (I Love You, Man, Disturbia, Old School) and Directed the classic Bill Murray hit Ghostbusters. What I’m saying is that this film is in good hands with a great director like this. Also, I laughed a lot during this movie, pretty hard a few times! With stars like this and scene stealers like The Office’s Mindy Kaling, it makes up for a load of the films flaws. Ashton Kutcher and Natalie Portman have amazing chemistry and were perfectly cast in this film, which make it surprisingly entertaining. If you are looking for a decent sex comedy on a saturday night then I recommend you see No Strings Attached.

Emma: What I need is someone who’s going to be in my bed in 2 a.m. who I don’t have to lie to or eat breakfast with.



3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2012 12:28 pm

    Excellent blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free
    platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Kudos!

  2. July 6, 2014 11:33 am

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.

    I will certainly return.

  3. October 5, 2014 11:54 am

    The clinic portion, run by Revolution Academy coaches, will feature Revs players as celebrity coaches and
    will be followed by a Q&A and autograph session. The farm technicians always make sure that the turf is delivered without damage and
    that it doesn’t suffer from shock during travel.
    So if your yard work is getting you down, call
    us today for a quote on the best synthetic turf on the market.

Leave a Reply to this Post

