Skip to content

Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story

April 22, 2011

Patches O’Houlihan: If you can dodge traffic, you can dodge a ball.

This refreshingly quirky sports comedy works perfectly. Vince Vaughn (Swingers) stars as chipper Peter La Fleur, the owner of local struggling gym Average Joe’s. Then we have Ben Stiller (Meet the Parents) as White Goodman, the crazy owner of a trendy, high-end fitness center, who gives Peter an ultimatum to raise $50,000 in a certain amount of time or White will take over Average Joe’s.

Dwight: We’re still missing the teenage love puppy and Steve the Pirate.
Owen: Who’s Steve the Pirate?
Dwight: The only guy on our team that dresses like a pirate!
Owen: Wait, there’s a guy on our team who dresses like a pirate?

Vaughn and his crew find a solution, dodgeball. After this, its just scene after scene of plain old entertainment. Stiller becomes more hell-bent and insane and Vaughn has a love interest (Christine Taylor). We also learn more about Patches O’Houlihan’s (Rip Torn) past as a famous dodgeball player, and Justin Long’s (Going the Distance) breakout performance is included, which is quite funny. Even Lance Armstrong makes a surprise cameo late in the film!

Kate Veatch: You don’t get to touch me, ever!
Peter La Fleur: Okay, Romeo, let me help you up.
White Goodman: Get off me, don’t you touch me! It’s over between us, Kate. Nobody makes me bleed my own blood… nobody!

This is a very funny movie, I don’t know what else to say. It’s filled with great one-liners, and a great cast. I suggest you run through the credits and watch what comes after, surprise epilogue shows up after the credits!

White Goodman: Stick it in your ear, La Fleur. I wouldn’t sell you your gym back for all of King Midas’ silver. The gym is mine! So you can take your band of yellow-bellied losers and just crawl on outta here!
Peter La Fleur: You’re right, White. I can’t make you sell back my gym, so I’ll just take your advice and invest in something. Say… the controlling stake of Globo Gym.
White Goodman: That’s preposterous! I’d never allow it.
Kate Veatch: Globo Gym is a publicly-traded company, there’s nothing you can do about it.
Peter La Fleur: So, I would control Globo Gym and… everything that Globo Gym owns. Which as of last night is Average Joe’s Gym!
Peter La Fleur: I’m your new boss, White.
White Goodman: You can’t be my boss! Nobody’s my boss! I’m my own boss! I created myself!
Peter La Fleur: You’re fired, pal.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 2:01 pm

    Keep up this good work, you have a nice blog over here with much good information! When you post some new stuff, I’ll visit your blog again and I’ll follow it.

Leave a Reply to this Post

