Skip to content

True Grit

March 26, 2011
tags:

Tom Chaney: I do not regret killing your father.

I liked this movie a lot. It was a little slow for me though. Steinfeld should have won the Oscar for best supporting actress, she was outstanding! Her performance makes this a five star film. I know that it’s a remake and the story is the same, but the ending was kind of weak. Those are the very few things I have to criticize about this film. Now let’s go on to what I loved! Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart, Tron: Legacy) was an outstanding and terrifyingly real performance as US Marshall Rooster Cogburn. Bridges not only delivers a great performance, but I believe Bridges was a more realistic and intense Cogburn than the previous Cogburn, played by the Western-God John Wayne.

I was a little concerned about this movie, being the Coen Brothers’ (A Single Man, No Country for Old Men) first feature PG-13 rated film, I had no idea what I would expect. Once again, the Coen Brothers have surpassed my expectations by creating another timeless classic that will surely be talked about for decades. Not only did Joel and Ethan Direct this incredible piece of art, they also wrote and produced it. If all that I’m saying isn’t good enough, this engrossing western drama features Matt Damon (Hereafter, The Green Zone) as the sly Texas Ranger LaBeuof, who provides comic relief throughout the film. Adding on to Damon, who can resist any movie with him? Damon’s character stands out as the most likable character, even though there isn’t a big number of cast members. Josh Brolin (Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps, Jonah Hex) showcases his wonderful talent as the villainous Tom Cheney, the man that Mattie and Cogburn are searching for. Each performance in this film is undeniably flawless, especially newcomer Hailee Steinfeld, who received a best supporting actress nod at the Oscars, as did Bridges for best actor.

Rooster Cogburn: I mean to kill you in one minute, Ned. Or see you hanged in Fort Smith at Judge Parker’s convenience. Which will you have?
Lucky Ned Pepper: I call that bold talk for a one-eyed fat man!
Rooster Cogburn: Fill your hand you son-of-a-bitch!

After all of this, I couldn’t believe how great the entire film is played out. The story is presented in a really smart way, even if it means the films pace is relatively slow. The scenery in this movie is absolutely gorgeous, whether it’s in the small town or in the mountaintops, it’s just amazing. Along with the beautiful scenery, the characters costumes are realistic and go along perfectly with the setting. True Grit is a great movie in every sense and is highly recommended to everyone.

Rooster Cogburn: The jakes is occupied.
Mattie Ross: I know it is occupied Mr. Cogburn. As I said, I have business with you.
Rooster Cogburn: I have prior business.
Mattie Ross: You have been at it for quite some time, Mr. Cogburn.
Rooster Cogburn: There is no clock on my business! To hell with you! To hell with you! How did you stalk me here?
Mattie Ross: The sheriff told me to look in the saloon. In the saloon they referred me here. We must talk.
Rooster Cogburn: Women ain’t allowed in the saloon!
Mattie Ross: I was not there as a customer. I am fourteen years old.
Rooster Cogburn: The jakes is occupied. And will be for some time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply to this Post

